Pain Viennois

Pain Viennois

Pain Viennois

This is actually my second attempt at making Richard Bertinet’s pain viennois. The first time I over cooked them, and got irrationally angry at them, because otherwise they were great and it was my ability to misread a simple instruction that messed it up. This time it worked out, and it was well worth it.

I should first apologise to those who follow me on Twitter / facebook / Instagram, as you will probably have seen these already, but I thought I really should blog about them. I mean what else am I supposed to do just before home time at work before a 4 day bank holiday weekend?

I really like this bake. The bread is so soft, and a little sweet, it is perfect for a late breakfast or snack. The consistency is somewhere between a milk loaf and a brioche (note: Don’t expect a brioche, or you will be disappointed, this is a sweet dough).

My only criticism of this bake is that they go stale very quickly. We normally have to eat a bake over 2 or 3 days, by which time these are stale. So use that as an excuse to be glutinous and eat them all as soon as they come out of the oven (at least still warm enough to melt the butter). I should note that I don’t know about anyone else but I found slashing these really hard, even with a new blade in my lame. I resorted to scissors.

I really want to take these on again and try something a little different. Firstly I would make more, slightly thinner batons. Secondly I would like to play with fillings. Han-na and I have been discussing brie and grape / cranberry / caramelised onion fillings. There is only one way to find out.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

