Wholemeal Khorasan Boule

Wholemeal khorasan loaf

Wholemeal khorasan loaf

It has been a while since I have posted about a bread. Especially one where I have made up the recipe.

So here is one. A wholemeal and Khorasan loaf. This came out of discussing Khorasan with Han-Na, and I thought why not make one myself.

This loaf is actually very simple, just a take on my standard 500 : 350  ratio bake. The only difference here bing the mix of flour, and a little sourdough kick.

  • 100g Sourdough starter (66% hydration in low activity state) – optional
  • 200g Coarse wholemeal flour
  • 100g Khorasan flour
  • 200g White bread flour
  • 350g Water
  • 20g Honey
  • 10g Yeast
  • 10g Salt

I don’t make sourdough enough to keep my starter constantly active, so it spends a lot of time in the fridge. Whilst not good for sourdough I find it works well for breads with added yeast, to give an extra depth.

So mix the starter with the honey, yeast and the water – I use a whisk at this point. Then leave to rest for 5 mins.

If not using the starter then just skip this step and mix the water with the flour.

Then add the flours and loosely mix then leave to rest for another 20 mins.

Now add the salt and work the dough as normal (slap and fold method works well with this).

I gave this a longer prove at 1 1/2 hour, before knocking back and shaping. Then another prove for another hour.

Now I slashed the loaf quite deeply, then left it for 5 mins for the slashes to open before baking.

Then bake for ~40 mins at 250°C, I tend to turn it down to 220°C after 10 mins.

Then enjoy. This loaf was really tasty, it had the dryness and nuttiness from the wholemeal and khorasan, but isn’t too dense / heavy because of the white flour and the starter.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Wholemeal Khorasan Boule

  1. I should not that Shipton Mill spell it Khorason rather than Khorasan, so sorry for any confusion in my spellings.

  2. That definitely looks the bizness Oli. I have restarted a sourdough starter and I am going to try and keep it going by putting in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

