Pfeffernüsse and Instagram

Baked and Iced Pepper Biscuits

Baked and Iced Pepper Biscuits

I love Christmas, and in recent years I have become more and more like an excited child about it. It’s not about the gifts, though I do love giving them, its more about the food and the atmosphere.

For me Christmas is a smell, some combination of cinnamon, cloves, citrus and brandy. Mum makes these pfeffernüsse biscuits every year and they are amazing. They taste of Christmas, and are a perfect little snack. This year I decided to make my own, and here is the result.

Now I say pfeffernüsse, they are not traditional pfeffernüsse. The recipe comes from one of mums old French recipe books, and is a unlike most pfeffernüsse recipes I have seen. Not only that, but it is indestructible, you can essentially change anything about it and it still works. The most important difference to note in this recipe is the absence of fat, most pfeffernüsse recipes I have seen use butter, this doesn’t. So we just call them pepper biscuits.

Ready to dry pepper biscuits

Ready to dry pepper biscuits

Base Recipe:

  • 250 g Caster sugar
  • 250 g Flour *
  • 1/2 tsp Baking powder
  • 2 Eggs
  • 150 g Mixed peel
  • 3 tsp Winter spices **
  • 1/2 tsp White pepper
  • Lemon + icing sugar glaze

* The recipe is normally white flour, but I tried a mixture of white and wholemeal (about 150 g white to 100 g wholemeal and it worked really well, but may require a bit more baking powder)

** As I said this recipe is basically indestructible. For this bake I used:

  • 1 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Mixed spice
  • 1/2 tsp All spice
  • 1/2 tsp Ginger

But use what ever you want really.

Freshly Iced Pepper Biscuits

Freshly Iced Pepper Biscuits

Instructions:

Simple as anything, mix all the ingredients (excluding the glaze) together into a dough, kneed for a bit.

Roll out little balls.

I am a bit anal and weighed each out to 32 g, for consistency, I would perhaps go a little smaller.

Leave to dry – For how long is another variable, recipe says a few hours, I prefer overnight or 24 hours. This lets them form a crust.

Bake for about 10 minutes in a hot oven.

While still hot dip them in the lemon icing glaze, and place on a cooling rack.

Enjoy – These are magic, and I can eat so many of them, that making them becomes a constant process.

Instagram: Here

Just a quick note on Instagram. Inspired by Joanna over at Zeb Bakes on using Instagram for micro posts, I have followed her lead. So from now on I will try to post some of my bakes, in progress, on Instagram, when I dont have enough content for a full post here.

Instagram

Tagged , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Pfeffernüsse and Instagram

  1. mydearbakes says:

    This looks very amazing! Yummy! =D

  2. Joanna says:

    I must have a go at these, just worry I might like them too much 🙂 Thanks for the mention, I am following you on Instagram now too.

  3. […] On the menu were mince pies, bread sticks, bread shots and more pfeffernüsse. […]

  4. […] saw these on Breadandbikes and just had to try […]

  5. These were a roaring success at work, so now I’m going to make some more. I’ve sent links to several people at work so you might see a rise in traffic today.

Leave a Reply

