New Bread Books

So have I mentioned it was our Birthday recently. (Claire and I share a birthday, which makes it like Christmas). We had various treats and activities planned to celebrate, and a number of them involved bread. Amongst other things I got two new bread cookery books (Dough and The Bread Baker’s Apprentice).

I will post a proper review of the books soon but for now I have been working my way through some of the recipes in Dough.

So far I have made 2 bakes from this book:

  • Focaccia
  • Poppy seed stars

These were made for a little dinner party Clare and I were hosting, and we wanted to make some nibbles. More than that we wanted to show off, so full of inspiration from the new books I set about making poppy /sesame seed stars.

As per recipes from books I won’t actually post the full recipe.

Stars

These stars are based on a very simple wholemeal dough (2:3 white to wholemeal), shaped into little balls.

They are then cut and rolled inside out to form stars, at which point I dipped the tops in poppy seeds or sesame seeds. Then baked until golden.

Personally I think these are great, they were a fantastic table piece, if a little bit impratically shaped.

Focaccia

Having made focaccia before I knew what to expect. Except this recipe was a little different, slightly more oil than expected.

The end result was that it came out a little ‘bready’ rather than the slightly crispier focaccia I am used to. I think I put that down to the thickness (I couldn’t find a bigger tray). Either way it was very tasty, and I would definitely make it again. Apologies for not providing a picture of it baked, I was in such a rush to eat it I completely forgot.

All in all I am very happy with the book, it is full of inspiring picture of bread you want to eat. Unlike some of the other books I have it focuses more on elaborate versions of basic leaves, rather than slightly more left field bakes. So you can imagine wanting to eat everything in the book.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “New Bread Books

  1. […] a quick follow up to my previous post on birthday bread books  one of my later presents was a new baking stone. I have previously been using a round pizza stone, […]

  2. Bertinet’s “Crust” is wonderful too – more slow fermentation and sourdough recipes.

Leave a Reply

