Bread Maker Jam

This blog post started as a two parter, the first a Rye Sourdough and the second a Strawberry Jam. Sadly I can not find a copy of the sourdough recipe, so I will have to save that for another day. The jam, on the other hand, is a story worth telling.

When I received my bread maker I flicked through the manual / cook book that came with it and amongst all of the breads and the odd cake was jam. Now I have helped my mum to make jam when a child, but never had the thought of making it in a bread maker crossed my mind. Needless to say it has taken me almost half a year to attempt it.

The catalyst? A large box of strawberries that we couldn’t finish in time. In the end I decided to freeze the remaining ‘OK’ ones, for a rainy day. In my mind I had envisaged using them in a coulis, or something where aesthetics didn’t play a major role. Then after a few days the idea of jam came to me, and I looked back in my bread maker book for the recipe. In true bread maker style the recipe was about as simple as they come, place ingredients in pan and press ‘Go’. Nothing to stand in my way.

Recipe:

  • 300 g Frozen strawberries (large ones halved)
  • 1 tsp Lemon juice
  • 300 g Jam sugar (sugar with added pectin)
  • 15 g Butter

Method:

As I said place all the ingredients in the pan, with the paddle installed. The setting number 12 – 85 minutes later – Jam.

I used this time to sterilise a jar. Not much else needed doing.

Now previously when I helped my mum make jam it was such a laboured, but enjoyable, process. Generally involving the largest pan known to man (~9 L) and very delicate thermometer work. Due to the complexity it was something done on the large scale, making the years jam in one go.

So the whole process of placing the ingredients in the bread maker then just sitting back is something slightly alien to me. If I’m honest I wouldn’t call it handmade jam, because I didn’t make it, the bread maker did. Note: My word the bread maker can get hot!

Despite the lack of connection with the process I am actually a big fan of the connivence of it all, and the ability to make jam on a small scale – which means more opportunity to experiment.

Here is a collection of the photos of the process, and mainly the result.

Result:

I am a big fan of making jam this way, the simplicity, the speed and the result. The jam set very well (honestly a bit too well) and tasted very sweet and fruity. Definitely comparable with a half decent shop bought jam, which for a first go is more than I could hope for. I would like to experiment with different fruits and sugar content but this provided a perfect grounding for a new hobby.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Bread Maker Jam

  1. A boy who likes his toys! Well done on giving it a go. Jam isn’t all that hard to make really and is loads better than shop bought. Not wanting to diss your mum, but you don’t need to make lots at a time, unless you’ve grown your own fruit and have tons about and you don’t need a thermometer really. And when you’ve got the bug for jam, then lemon curd and fruit jellies come up on the horizon too. Not forgetting marmalade in January/February when the Seville oranges come in. And membership of the WI. And an entry into the local produce show.

    • I am a big fan of my toys, the computer scientist in me.
      I suspect my mum was making it due to a glut of fruit, living in the countryside it is quite a normal occurrence. Sadly I am slightly more reliant on shops for my fruit.
      Not so sure about the WI membership either, but the rest sounds good.

  2. […] I’ve made some strawberry jam, despite haranguing Olly over on https://breadandbikes.wordpress.com/2012/07/07/bread-maker-jam/ about his use of the breadmachine to make jam. Boys and toys! Me, I used a saucepan and a wooden […]

  3. […] When I received my bread maker I flicked through the manual / cook book that came with it and amongst all of the breads and the odd cake was jam. Now I have …breadandbikes.wordpress.com/2012/07/07/bread-maker-jam/ […]

  4. […] Bread Maker Jam Learn how to use your bread machine to make jam with far less fuss than the traditional way with the help of this post. […]

Leave a Reply

