50 / 50 Sandwich Loaf

Whilst I bake a lot there is always something I am waiting to bake, or a recipe I want to try. I rarely work in chronological order, and this is one of those loaves I have been waiting for the opportunity to bake. Whilst initially quite a simple idea a 50/50 loaf tin bake. The story of this loaf came from a request from a fellow blogger for a loaf to make sandwiches from. Here it is:

The recipe is based on Dan Lepard’s Short and Sweet Wholemeal Loaf – customised to be a 50 / 50 mix of white and wholemeal by What? Bread?– this post says it all – dark banana ginger cake and breads for making pack lunches. I got a copy of the recipe from the Guardian website – How to Bake Wholemeal Bread. (Also I suggest reading Joanna’s post about the bake here)

The recipe strips Dan’s down a bit, as you can get away with a little more simplicity when using white flour over wholemeal. I hope posting the recipe doesn’t cause too many problems, but I think it is distant enough from the original to not have a problem.

Recipe:

  • 225 g White bread flour
  • 224 g Wholemeal bread flour
  • 330 ml Water
  • 2 tsp Dried easy yeast
  • 2 tsp Soft light brown sugar
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 50 ml Sunflower oil

Method:

I am inherently lazy, so I made the dough in the bread maker as I often do. (I use the dough setting far more than anything else, what does that say about me?) Basically 30 min kneading then 1 hour proving. Then knock it back and transition to a loaf tin, where it can rise for another 30 mins, lightly covered with oiled cling film. Slash.

Then bake at 180°C for around 30 – 35 mins (with steam), and this is the result:

Result:

I’m not really sure what to say about this bake. It was so spot on, I actually couldn’t have asked for more. The crust has a little bite, and the crumb is light and airy with a spring to it.

I often find 100% wholemeal a bit too dense, but this had the perfect balance. This loaf was designed to make sandwiches with, hence the more practical shape of the loaf tin. It made amazing sandwiches, I would have photographed them, but I ate them too quickly, testament to the bake.

Claire even commented that she thinks it might be the best loaf I have ever made (she helped, by doing the slash). What more could I ask for?

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “50 / 50 Sandwich Loaf

  1. Looks great! Doesn’t look like it will last long enough to be made into sandwiches for tomorrow! That’s why I double up and do two at a time.

  2. I really like a 50-50 mix with wholemeal though 100% wholemeal tastes great once cooled from the oven. Its amazing how varying the proportion of flours has such an impact on the taste. I have started using a little spelt flour in my white sourdough loves because it adds a lovely flavour. Similarly kamut flour can add a great flavour.

  3. Cheers guys. No it wont last long, but I am away for a few days, so I have left the recipe with Claire so hopefully she will make some of her own.
    What is this kamut flour everyone talks about? Whats the benefit? Is it only available online?

    • Google it and you can see the web site. I have found it in whole food stores – Doves Farm offer it in there range. has more protein i think. a nutty taste. one of those old grains that’s not been messed about with. baking properties similar to spelt in that it needs a little more water and if you make a 100% kamut loaf then you get a close texture a little cake like. But I am fond of such bread too having made many a spelt loaf in my time. definitely worth trying once!

  4. This sounds like just an excellent loaf. 50/50 is usually a nice loaf.
    I’m smiling because I’ve never owned a bread machine and lately I don’t even use my KitchenAid, kneading is so much cheaper than a therapy session.

  5. […] be happier. I honestly believe this is one of the nicest loaves I have made. On a par with the 50/50 loaf in terms of softness of crumb, and the spelt on taste, except different. The Khorasan isn’t […]

Leave a Reply

