Sourdough For Chowder

So here is the next chapter in my sourdough adventures. Yet another attempt, and yet more room for improvement, yet somehow I really feel like I am getting somewhere. I will not, and can not, be beaten by a bread made from three ingredients. Last night we had smoked haddock chowder, and required sourdough, here is what happened.

As I have mentioned before Claire is not the biggest fan of sourdough, so I tried something a bit different. Rather than feeding the starter for a few days before using it, I used it straight out of the fridge. The idea was to allow it to ferment, but with a slightly subtler effect, akin to using part starter part yeast.

Different I know, but try everything once, and all that.

The recipe I used came from the weekendbakery.com for San Francisco Sourdough. I had really liked their easy baguette recipe so why not try another. Obviously I didn’t follow the recipe completely, I never do, but it was actually quite close. I keep my starter at a slightly different hydration level, so I had to do a bit of customisation to get it to their recipe. So here it is:

Recipe:

  • 180 g Starter (50/50 by weight)
  • 307 g Bread flour
  • 50 g Spelt flour
  • 204 g Water
  • 9 g Salt

Method:

So again not the method in the post but here is what I did.

I mixed the ingredients in the bread maker for a few minutes, then put the dough in the fridge to rest overnight. In the morning I let the dough return to room temperature, then worked it for a few minutes, stretching and folding. Then I let it prove again for a few hours.

After another round of stretching and folding, I let it perform it’s final rise in my new banneton. I baked it at 220°C for 10 mins, then a further 25 at 170°C, in a pre-heated oven. Sadly for my oven this was too hot, and the crust started to burn, this is becoming a slightly regular occurrence, I think I need to address my oven temperature. Anyway here is the the result:

Result:

Well as you can see the crust is a little burnt, and the crumb is quite closed. Honestly I don’t mind. This loaf is amazing it tastes wonderful, a hint of sour, a springy crumb. It worked really well with the rich chowder and will definitely be made again. Unlike a lot of my other sourdough attempts this one was a relatively dry dough, in that it didn’t stick to everything. So I think there is room for play – perhaps even sticking to the recipe + instructions next time.

Oh and if your interested the chowder is from BBC Food – Smoked haddock and salmon chowder,

Cheers,
Olly

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Sourdough For Chowder

  1. Looks amazing from that banneton!! You might be able to get away with turning down the heat on your oven if you put boiling water in a tray in the bottom whilst you cook it, creating the ‘steam oven’ effect and getting a really good crust going – that’s how I’ve been cooking my sourdough experiments and though I’ve not got loaf shape down at all, the crusts are coming out nice!

    • Thank you so much. BTW I love your blog, I actually wonder if collectively we dont have the same recipe book collection, because so many of your posts look like thins I make / have made.
      Yer honestly I think I may have done more harm than good when I fitted the new thermostat to the oven, something is not right. Alas I will go off the oven thermometer next time.

      Shape it what usually eludes me, as usually the dough is so wet it looses all shape the moment you remove it from the banneton. This recipe is a little dryer, so it held its shape for long enough to form a crust. The amount of failed loaves, or lava bread as we have named it.
      O

  2. Mal says:

    Bannetons seem to be doing the job to great effect, Olly. In retrospect I bet you wish you hadn’t bothered with the slashes(?). That’s some fierce oven you’ve got!

Leave a Reply

