Spelt Boule & Some New Toys

I thought I would write a bit of a combined post. Basically I have had a delivery from BakeryBits of a new round banneton, a lame and some paddles. To celebrate I decided to bake a loaf. What better than a spelt boule, with the added shape of my new banneton. The recipe is essentially the same as my previous spelt loaf but at a slightly higher hydration.

I really love spelt bread, despite only just discovering it fairly recently, I am an absolute convert. It’s not an everyday bread, but there is something about it that is just special. And as I have posted before it makes amazing toast (which is frankly what a lot of my bread is used for).

Recipe:

For a 500 g loaf –

  • 200 g Spelt flour
  • 150 g Strong white bread flour
  • 260 ml Water
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp Yeast

Same method as before.

 

I really like this loaf, it has a lovely shape, and a bit of rustic charm. The crust is a little dry when toasted, but otherwise it is lovely. Not using the sugar in the recipe didn’t appear to have any adverse effect, so I will to continue to try to omit it.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Spelt Boule & Some New Toys

  1. Mal says:

    Nice going Olly. Looking at your pics, did you do one with a liner and one without? (I got a couple of bannetons recently too and haven’t had the courage to dispense with a liner.)

    Spelt, more or less water than ‘normal’ wheat?

    • Hey,
      Yer I probably should have explained that one better, just the one loaf. I used the liner for the first proving phase, then forgot to put it back for the second. I also prefer the ‘rings’ you get from not using it, but I find it helps prevent it stick when the dough is wet.
      I would be tempted to go for a bit more water than normal wheat, because it has a quite dry taste, so helps to keep it moist.

  2. Funny toast sounds so “common” (my mother-in-law’s word) but I find it really is sometimes just the ultimate.
    I love the look the rings give it. If you have much trouble with sticking you might try dusting the banneton with semolina flour – maybe you’ve tried that – it seems to work well for me. I generally drop a couple of bay leaves in the banneton to discourage those unwanted “guests” … the flour weevils/moths.

    • Toast common?? Yer, but why not turn the mundane into luxury?
      Semolina flour you say? I always dust it, but usually with whatever flour I have open on the table. What is the motivation behind using semolina flour? Books often refer to using it on the baking stone, I have just never understood why.
      The bay leaves don’t leave any taste do they? Cheers.

  3. No no taste from the bay leaves but the moths don’t like the smell of it and tend to stay away.
    Semolina – I’m less sure about why, just my experience tells me it works. I’d always used corn meal but then a bread friend suggested semolina to avoid the smell of burning and I liked the way the semolina behaved. I think, no source just me, if you try it you’ll find it feels more like your dough is on rollers: like when I use it on a pizza peel to slide the pizza onto the hot stone in an oven. Probably works better than flour because of it being coarser.

  4. […] the nicest loaves I have made. On a par with the 50/50 loaf in terms of softness of crumb, and the spelt on taste, except different. The Khorasan isn’t a very powerful flavour, I would perhaps up […]

Leave a Reply

