Cinnamon Rolls – Take 2

There comes a time when I have to repete recipes, I don’t like it, but sometimes you just have to. So here is my latest batch of Cinnamon Rolls, but slightly different from my previous attempt. This recipe almost went very wrong. The recipe I was following was based in cups (and being a normal person I work in grams), basically the I noticed halfway through that my conversion didn’t match what the internet said. So here goes, my own recipe.

The first thing I would say is that I think the oven is playing up, again, so the temperature was too high to start with, which burnt the tops a bit. So apologies for the aesthetics. Also it appears I don’t own enough appropriately sized baking trays.

You will note that I have gone for a traditional icing, rather than the more typical American cream cheese icing that is popular with cinnamon rolls. Partly because I didn’t have any cream cheese and partly because I prefer the normal stuff.

Recipe:

Dough:

  • 270 g Milk
  • 135 g White sugar
  • 80 g Butter
  • 800 g Bread flour
  • 2 Eggs
  • 3 tsp Dried yeast
  • 2 tsp Salt

Filling: (Honestly I guessed at these)

  • 75 g Butter (melted)
  • 50 g Brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp Cinnamon

Icing: (Again a guess and depends how thick you want the icing)

  • 150 g Icing sugar
  • 1-2 tbsp Water – or enough to make the icing of the desired consistency

Method:

I made the dough in the bread maker, 30 min kneading 1 h proving.

Rolled it out until it was about 1 1/2 cm thick. Then brushed it with the melted butter, and covered with the sugar and cinnamon. Feel free to go crazy here, I have never hear of anyone complaining about too much cinnamon.

Roll the dough into a swiss roll, then cut into ~1″ slices. Lay these down in a buttered tray, with plenty of room to expand. Then leave to rise for another 30-40 mins (for me this is while the oven pre-heats).

Bake at 180°C for about 20-25 mins (until they look ready). Leave to cool on a rack then ice.

Now these tasted good at this point, but what I did after made a world of difference.

I placed them in an air tight box overnight. The effect was to moisten the rolls, and let the icing drip through the layers.

Result:

These were fantastic, I was a little annoyed at the burning, but these things happen and I dont think it affected the result much.

I took the remaining batch along to swimming, and they went down very well (if I do say so myself).

So the moral of this story is that proper recipes don’t always matter, just work with the dough until it feels right.

I think next time I would like to be a bit more careful, and measure the dough out, and roll to an even shape, and slice into even slices. Then bake them all with regular spacing and all that jazz, to make them look more consistant. Then again life is too short, and they tasted amazing, and frankly what else matters?

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

