Perfecting Croissants

Much like the previous pasta post I have tried to avoid reposting recipes, without at least some modification. Now thats all fair and well with bread, but croissants are perhaps my favourite breakfast snack, and perfect for a bank holiday monday. So time to repost my croissant recipe.

I often consider making croissants but am put off by the time it requires the previous day. Bank holidays are the perfect excuse, and what a great way to start a lazy day.

Recipe:

  • 150 ml Milk
  • 1 Egg
  • 350 g White flour
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 tbsp Sugar
  • 25 g Butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp
  • 175 g Butter (softened)
Method:
In brief, make the dough with all the ingredients except the 175 g of butter.
Roll out the dough and lay the softened butter on the dough, and fold in thirds. Turn 90 ° then roll out again and fold in thirds. Chill and repeat. Repete any number of times – between 3 and 4. Leave over night.
Roll out into a larger rectangle 12″ by 24″. Then cut in half, width ways, then thirds length ways. Making 6 smaller rectangles.
Cut each of these rectangles diagonally making 12 triangle. Straighten up and roll the triangles into crescents.
Leave to rise for 30 mins in a warm place, then glaze with an egg yolk / milk. Bake for 15 – 20 mins until golden.

The recipe makes 12 croissants, I halved the batch once they were risen, and put them in the freezer for a lazy morning breakfast another day.

I hope you enjoy the pics as much as we enjoyed eating them.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Perfecting Croissants

  1. They look fab. Well done for a busy weekend. I’ve been faffing about and have nothing to report, no pictures anyway of any baking so haven’t blogged for a bit. Must get round to it soon…..have done more flaky butter buns, a banana cake (Dan Lepard from last weekends Gruaniad), pizzas and now doing bread for work and school pack lunches.

    • Wow that all sounds very busy. The banana cake sounds fab, did you take any pictures? I would love to see how it turned out. My freezer is now full of bits of dough. I need to start doing something with them.
      I’m taking a little break from sourdough at the moment, I really want to get it to work, but there are only so many ‘almost’ loaves you can eat before you tire of it.

      What loaf do you find works best for packed lunches? I often find the slices dry out too quickly.

  2. Congratulations! I would say these are the holy grail of all bread baking, something which I’m yet to achieve myself but with the help of your recipe, I dare say I might just get there…

Leave a Reply

