Flavoured Pasta

I have previously written quite an extensive post about my pasta making exploits, so I have held of posting other pasta related posts, cos frankly they are all very similar. So I tried something different – flavoured (and coloured) pasta. I made three batches, one normal, one spinach and one tomato.

I wont write too much in this post, but just mention that I used my standard 2 cups of flour to 2 eggs (+ some water) recipe. I doubled it up, then split the dough in 3.

For the spinach one, I wilted some spinach then dried it and mashed it up in a pestle and mortar. The tomato was done in a similar way, but with sun dried tomatoes. Once I had a paste for each, I rolled out the dough a bit and spread it on, then worked it in. In both cases I needed to use quite a lot of flour, as the pastes (despite my best effort) were quite wet.

Then I rested them for 30 mins in the fridge.

I only cooked the spinach, and I made spinach and ricotta ravioli with it. I think it looked great, and tasted delicious.

Incidentally I tried an interesting method for making the ravioli. In an ice cube tray! The first batch failed as I forgot to flour it, but the next two batches were spot on! They make them quite small, but I dont see that as a problem.

 

The last photo shows the ravioli in action for dinner, served simply with slices of sun dried tomatoes and artichoke hearts, with a drizzle of olive oil.

 

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Flavoured Pasta

  1. […] like the previous pasta post I have tried to avoid reposting recipes, without at least some modification. Now thats all fair and […]

  2. Will says:

    I’ve yet to get round to making my own pasta, but the ice cube tray trick looks like a winner! I’ll stow that one away for the “one day” when I have pasta-progeny!

    Will
    Leavened Heaven: My Search for Sarnie Shangri-La

Leave a comment