Sourdough Crumpets

As a followup to my attempt at making sourdough pancakes I thought I would have a go at their bigger brother – crumpets. The motivation is basically to use up my sourdough starter without throwing it away.

As you will have noticed they don’t exactly look like crumpets. I have yet to get around to ordering crumpet rings, so for now I am using star cookie cutters. I’m not sure it makes a massive difference, so why not make them interesting.

The recipe for this bake was taken from chocolateandzucchini.com – Sourdough Crumpets with Natural Starter  as it was very simple and the results looked good.

After the pancakes came out a little ‘sour’ I modified this recipe to add a bit more sugar, I assume it is dependent on your starter. I also added some extra water, because the mix was too thick.

Recipe:

  • 270 g White Starter
  • 2 tsp Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 2 tbsp Water (Optional – To thin the batter)
  • 1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of soda
  • Oil to grease

Method:

Mix the starter, sugar, salt and water if using.

Heat a frying pan + the rings on a reasonably low heat – 2 on my hob. You don’t want them to burn as they hit the pan.

Grease the pan and rings. Add the bicarb just before cooking. Then cook for a few minutes. Then try turning them over.

I say try because I failed on my first batch, the base was cooked, but the top was too wet, so it just spilt. My second batch I placed under the grill for a bit, just to crisp up, then turned them over. Worked perfectly. Then toast in the toaster to reheat if like me it too you so long to do the second batch that the first were cold.

Result:

Amazing – I am so happy with these.

The tase is just like shop bought crumpets – but better. They had that same fried bread taste that french toast has.

They didn’t have such big holes as shop bough ones, but that just means the butter gets soaked up rather than dripping through. Win!

Definitely on my to do again list. Without modifications.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

