Sourdough Pancakes

Happy Easter! I thought I would celebrate it with something a little different, little bit bored of chocolate at the moment, and frankly pancakes rock. Since the start of my sourdough exploits I have been wondering what to do with the starter that you bin at every feed. I know you have to get rid of it, and honestly I’m not going to make that much bread, so what other interesting things can you do with it. Well sourdough pancakes.

I had heard mention of them before, and there is are a number of pancakes mentioned in Dan Lepard’s book, so why not.

I found this blog for sourdough pancakes and thought that looked simple enough. The only point of confusion is how much is 2 cups of starter. I do so hate the unit of ‘cup’ what is wrong with grams? Oh well I just guessed something that looked about right, I worked it into the rest of the mixture looked like pancake batter.

Recipe:

  • 2 cups Sourdough
  • 2 tbsp Sugar
  • 1 large Egg (I used 2 small)
  • 4 tbsp Olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tbsp Warm water

Method:

Mix the bicarb and water in a small cup and put aside.

Mix the remaining ingredients together to form a batter.

When ready to cook fold in the bicarb mix. Then cook on a hot griddle / frying pan.

I decided to shape mine. Sadly the only metal shapes we have are the Ikea Animal Cookie selection, and a selection of stars. So I did what I could do. Sadly I couldn’t get them to work, the pancakes were too thick, and with the heat too high they would start burning before they had fully taken shape. So I had to go free form and make circles by hand.

Result:

I am generally more a fan of the European style thin pancakes, with lemon and sugar, than the thick American ones. These are the exception.

The starter gives them a nice acidic kick not to mention a great way to use up the unwanted starter.


Taste wise they needed more sugar, they were too dry and sour to eat on their own. They would have been perfect with lemon and sugar, but we decided to go for a cinnamon sugar + butter topping. It just added a sweet kick but not too overpowering.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Sourdough Pancakes

  1. Excellent work again there Olly. I’m not dumping any sourdough starter when I feed mine.

    These are a bit like pikelets or crumpets – I’m waiting for some crumpet rings to be delivered and will be trying a River Cottage recipe that uses normal yeasts, but having seen this I can see another variation on its way.

  2. samology says:

    oh that’s such a great idea! Would never have thunk that! haha. I am the total opposite of you! Although I am aware that weight measurements are indubitably more accurate that volume measurements, I tend to go for the latter just because…. the sad truth is that I don’t yet own a kitchen scale! Moving this month and trying not to buy anything more! haha.. But props to you for usually doing your measurements by weight!!

    • My problem with cups, is what cup to pick.
      How do you not own kitchen scales? How can you do anything without them? They are my lifeline, I weigh everything (even water).

      As for the pancakes I’m not sure the pictures got across how appealing they are.
      My next step (inspired by icemaiden1964, above) is sourdough crumpets http://whatbread.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/crumpets-round-1/
      Just need me some crumpet rings.

      • samology says:

        You know what “cups” mean right? There are standard dry measuring cups http://www.gourmetsleuth.com/Dictionary/D/Dry-measuring-cups-4885.aspx

      • I know! It’s just the only thing I have with markers for them are horrible plastic mixing jugs. For a lot of things I make I try to keep it in one or two bowls rather than loosing half the starter because it has suck to the mixing jug. So when I do use cups I literally use a cup, I prefer a nice small one, which having just measured holds 267 g of water, where as a cup is 236 g. So not much over, but incidentally it measures less than a cup in my mixing jug. This is why I prefer grams.
        Having said that I still always use cups when measuring flour for pasta dough, not sure why.

      • samology says:

        oh! okay.. I see what you mean now… Yeah, for measuring flour cups are a lot easier.

  3. […] a followup to my attempt at making sourdough pancakes I thought I would have a go at their bigger brother – crumpets. The motivation is basically […]

Leave a Reply

