Spiced Syrup Cake

Not that I am bored of bread, far from it, but today I wanted something sweet, plus we still have half a loaf of the sourdough left. So I wanted to make something more cake like. Inspired by a recipe (well picture) of gingerbread and marmalade cake I fancied something in that region. Sadly Claire doesn’t share my love for gingerbread and we didn’t have any any marmalade in the house. So I came up with this – Spiced Golden Syrup Cake.

The recipe (as with a lot of my bakes) is a mixture of a few recipes. Mainly the gingerbread and a golden syrup cake which I found on good food.

So my version of the recipe went like this:

  • 115 g Butter
  • 115 g Sugar – Soft brown muscovado
  • 230 g Golden Syrup
  • 230 g Self raising Flour
  • 1 Large egg (I used 2 small eggs)
  • 150 ml Milk
  • 1 tsp Ground ginger
  • 1 tsp Ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Bicarbonate of soda
  • 2 tsp Baking powder
  • 1 tbsp Golden syrup to cover

Method:

Preheat the oven, and grease the tin.

Mix the butter, sugar and golden syrup in a saucepan on the hob until melted, leave to cool.

Mix the flour with the beaten eggs + milk, then add the spices and bicarb + baking powder.

Combine the two mixtures, the pour into a cake tin – or a loaf tin in my case.

Bake for 50 mins at 140 °C.

When out of the oven brush with the remaining golden syrup, melted. I pricked a load of wholes in the top so that the extra golden syrup would drip into the middle. Like with a lemon drizzle cake.

Result:

I am told that the cake is best matured in an ait tight tin for 24 hours, but who are we kidding, its unlikely to cool properly before the first attempt at eating it. Nor should you, get a cup of tea and a slice of cake and enjoy. This is one tasty sticky mess of a cake. The light spice means its not too sweet, and give it a lovely smell.


The consistency is very odd, what with the additional bicarb and baking powder it has a really light fluffy texture, with the slightest of crusts. It is actually very moist, not as dry as gingerbread.

Spot on.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

