Olive Loaf

My baking faith had been renewed after yesterdays failure. I wanted something different today, and spent a while browsing the internet for pics, and I found this one, Matt’s Rosemary + Olive Loaf. So I set about it. The recipe for this bake is taken almost straight from the blog. I only modified a few things, like using easy bake dried yeast and using a mix of white and wholemeal flour.

Recipe:

  • 380 g Bread flour ( 260 g strong white to 120 g wholemeal)
  • 170 ml Water
  • 1 Free range egg
  • 1 tbsp Sugar
  • 1 tbsp Salt (a lot I know)
  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp Yeast
  • 130 g Olives
  • 2 tbsp Rosemary

After the Rosemary and Sun Dried Tomato Bread I needed a bit more salt and rosemary, so I stuck to this recipe this time. and I’m glad.

Method:
As per usual I made my dough in the bread maker, but I decided to stick to the usual dough setting rather than programming my own, as per last night.
My bread maker has a seed dispenser which releases seeds or other fillings, in this case the olives + rosemary, 15 mins into a 30 min knead. It’s just so they don’t get broken up too much in the process.
If not using a bread maker I would suggest incorporating them just before the first rise.
I found the dough to be quite wet, so I added a bit more flour during the kneading.
After knocking back the dough, I let it prove the second time in the new proving basket, under oiled cling film.
Then the usual process of slashing, baking on the preheated baking stone, at about 190 °C, for about 40 mins.
Additionally I did learn one major new skill in this bake, how to pit an olive. With a recipe requiring a cup full I had to learn fast. Apparently hitting them with the flat edge of the knife works well.

 Result:

I don’t know what I expected from this bake, for some reason I actually wanted something a bit tougher, it came out a bit soft.

Odd because on most bakes I look for soft, but I guess I am craving sourdough. The olives give it a nice salty kick, and generally tase wise it is great, I guess I’m just a little down it didn’t look like theirs. Oh well.

Would I make it again, hell yes! What would I do differently, nothing really (perhaps less salt). This bread would make a perfect sandwich, and perhaps thats what I shall do with it tomorrow.

I may have to give it a few days before my next bake, there is only so much bead I can eat on my own, and with a stag do + a half marathon this weekend I’m not sure I will have the time.

Hopefully by then my new baking book will arrive – I have a plan and I’ll tell all when it comes.

Cheers,

Olly

 

Edit:

For some reason I went back to the blog I got the recipe from and actually finished reading it (I have a short attention span). So perhaps there is too much salt in this. I like salt, and I guess it depends on your olives, if they are in brine, I would cut it down.

Additionally I dont have a cloche, so that part of the recipe was out. Also leaving it for 2 hours to cool? Who has that much patience? I wanted it warm enough to melt butter.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Olive Loaf

  1. Your bread recipes look great! I just started getting into really enjoying baking and started baking my own bread as well. You might enjoy the book Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

Leave a Reply

