Shipton Mill

I get bored quite easily, and so am constantly looking for new things to try. This is very applicable to bread, but I have felt limited by the availability of ingredients so far. Specifically I have been wanting to try a Rye bread, partially motivated by the Hairy Bikers – Bakeation – Scandinavian Rye Bread. So I ordered some flour online from Shipton Mill, and because they charge £5 for postage I had to buy enough to make it worth while.

My shopping list included:

  • 2x 1 kg White Bread Flour
  • 2x 1 kg Italian White Flour – Type 00 (for pasta)
  • 1 kg Italian Ciabatta Flour
  • 1 kg Extra Coarse Organic Wholemeal Flour
  • 1 kg Organic 100% Wholemeal Flour
  • 1 kg Organic Dark Rye Flour
  • 1 kg Organic Light Rye Flour
  • Bread Proving Basket – Small Oval

It arrived in a beautiful box, which is now my flour box.

This all arrived the same day I bought 1.5 kg strong white bread flour (Allinson) and 1 kg of spelt flour. So in total 11.5 kg of flour.

My favourite item is the little oval proving basket, and it was put straight to use, in a spelt loaf.

I am really excited to start making some new breads and other tasty snacks.

 

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Shipton Mill

  1. […] out onto a floured surface, knock back and kneed slightly. I then took the opportunity to use my new proving basket. So I shaped the dough, and placed into the floured basket. Cover with oiled cling film and leave […]

  2. […] part of my Shipton Mill order I got a bag of coarse wholemeal flour, and I have been waiting to give it a try. […]

  3. […] I started with wholemeal flour, as the instructions suggested, but switched to rye as soon as my Shipton Mill order arrived. My motivation for this was wanting a rye starter for some of the Mellow Bakers […]

Leave a Reply

