Cinnamon Swirls

Cinnamon swirls are one of my favourite treats, especially for breakfast. So I had a go at making this recipe, it’s more on the bread side than the pastry side, but I think it worked really well. I have previously made a very similar recipe, but for a swirl loaf (sadly I don’t have any pictures).

This recipe came in two parts, the first for the actual cinnamon swirls, the second for the icing. The recipe for the swirls is adapted from this one on Bakingmad – Dan’s Cinnamon Swirls. I say adapted, because some of the comments suggested changing it.


Recipe:

Swirls:

  • 500 g Bread flour (I used 300 g strong white, 200 g wholemeal)
  • 1 tbps Clear honey
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 2 tsp Yeast
  • 1 Egg yolk
  • 30 g Melted butter
  • 345 ml Warm water
  • 2 tbsp Cinnamon (I know he said 1 tsp, I went a bit mental)
  • 3 tbps Demerara sugar
  • Melted butter to brush

Icing:

  • 40 g Melted butter
  • 128 g Icing sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • Water to mix (~2 tsp)

Method:

I followed Dan’s method here.

Mix all the ingredients bar the cinnamon and sugar, and work into a dough. Personally I found it to be a very wet dough, and if repeating I would use less water. Work the dough for a bit, then roll into a rectangle.

I went a little off pise here, and brushed the rectangle in melted butter, to make the cinnamon sugar stick. Then cover in the cinnamon sugar mix. I was making these for the lab, so I decided to roll along the short edge, to make lots little of small swirls.

Once in a swiss roll form, cut into 2 cm slices and lay on a greased baking tray, and leave to rise until doubled in size. I decided to leave them for almost 1 1/2 hours, so they were nice and big, but you could leave them for far less (I had a driving lesson mid bake, so had to leave them).


Then bake in the oven, at 190 °C, for 20 mins.

Leave to cool.

After tasting a test one, I decided that they were missing something so I decided to make an icing. A slightly odd choice but I decided to make a cinnamon icing (it made it slightly brown, but I don’t see that as a problem).

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl, then dip in the swirls.

Result:

Well I have only tried one, as the rest are supposed to be for group meeting. Never the less I was happy with the result. A little bit doughy, but from the recipe what else would you expect. They also look the part. Will see what the general response is a group meeting tomorrow for a final evaluation.


Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Cinnamon Swirls

  1. […] you just have to. So here is my latest batch of Cinnamon Rolls, but slightly different from my previous attempt. This recipe almost went very wrong. The recipe I was following was based in cups (and being a […]

Leave a Reply

