Lunchtime Rolls

Claire needed a packed lunch for her trip tomorrow so wanted some sandwiches (how she isn’t sick of me force feeding her bread based good by now I’m not sure) so I decided to make some rolls. Well I say rolls, but they turn out quite large, more like a baton or something.

This bake is only a slight variation on the majority of my bread so far.

Recipe:

For a 500 g loaf –

  • 245 ml Water
  • 1 tbsp Oil
  • 350 g Bread flour (I chose 200 g strong white to 150 g strong wholemeal)
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1  tsp Sugar
  • 1  tsp Dried yeast


Method:

Again the usual method, all the ingredients in the bread maker on the dough setting, 90 mins later, knock back the dough. Shape it and leave it to rise.

Dust with flour and slash, place on baking stone and bake at 190 °C, with a little water in the bottom of the oven.

Result:

I think these look amazing. Nice dark crust and a great hollow sound. I just hope that I get to keep one for my lunch.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

