Pizza

So Claire has the girls from the lab around to bake for Sports Relief, and they need feeding. So my plan was to make some pizzas to keep them fed, through all the hard work. Being a veggie I made a tomato mozzarella and pesto pizza, and for the meat eating girls I made a pepperoni.

The key to this bake was that there wouldn’t be enough time to make the dough from scratch in the evening. So we spilt the process, making the dough the night before and giving it a full 24 hours in the fridge to slowly rise.

The recipe for this was taken from my bread maker book.

Recipe:

To make 2x 12″ bases, though I made 3x 10″ (as this is the size of my silicon baking sheets)

  • 250 ml Water
  • 1 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 450 g Bread flour (all strong white this time)
  • 1 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Sugar
  • 1 tsp Yeast

Method:

So we were very lazy with this and just threw it in the bread maker to make the dough. My bread maker actually has a pizza dough setting, but I have yet to work out in what way it differs from the normal dough setting.

Once finished, turn out onto floured surface, knock back then place in a bowl in the fridge, and cover with oiled cling film.

The next day knock the dough back, and roll on a floured surface. Split into 3 equal sized pieces, and roll out.

For the the pepperoni I went for a thick crust, by folding under the edge, to double up the rim. Where as the mozzarella I went for a basic thin base.

Then cover with tomato sauce (made from a reduction of tinned chopped tomatoes, with some herbs and oil), then cover with topping. I tend not to put more oil on top, as I find it just leaves an oily glaze.

Transfer to baking stone, and bake for 15 – 20 mins.

Result:

Well for starters the first mozzarella went before I had a chance to photograph it, so I take that as a good sign. I did manage to snap a quick one for the pepperoni (both before and after baking). We still have one mozzarella to make, and I will make sure I get photos of that.

The bake came out really well, the pizza stone made a massive difference, as the base came out really consistently cooked, with a really light texture.

Cheers,

Olly

Edit:

So after having one piece of dough left I put it in the freezer to save it for another day. Last night I defrosted it and made it up. Now the mozzarella I had been intending to us had been eaten (by me, and it was worth it), so I went for something new / different. I had some left over deli counter marinated sweet pepper strips with feta cubes. So I made a basic cheese & tomato topping, then covered with the peppers, and lastly an egg.

Success, an amazing pizza, and because the dough was pre-made it took no time at all.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

