Breakfast Croissants

Another recipe inspired by Paul Hollywood – Croissants.

Still, the time had come, I was going to make them, they are my preferred breakfast snack.I have always been put off making croissants, as I am with anything that requires resting over night, I guess I just don’t have the patience and instead favour instant gratification.

I used a combination of Paul Hollywoods methods and technique from this video.

The actual recipe came from my bread makers cook book.

Recipe:

  • 150 ml Milk
  • 350 g White bread flour
  • 1 Free range egg
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 tbsp Sugar
  • 25 g Butter
  • 1 1/1 tsp Dried yeast
  • 175 g Butter (For rolling into the dough)
  • 1 Free range egg yolk (For the glaze)
Method:
Make the dough in the bread maker.
Flatten the butter into a 1/2 cm thick rectangle + chill.
Lay the butter on the dough, and wrap the dough (length ways) around the butter.
Roll out, forwards, with the closed edges at the side.
Fold the dough, twist and repeat. chilling in between.
Leave to rest in the fridge over night.

 

Roll into rectangle, and cut into triangles. Roll up and curve.
Leave to rise once more, then brush with egg glaze.
Bake for 15 – 20 mins, at 200 C, or until golden.

Result:

We halved the amounts because it was only the two of us, and it still left us with a load spare.

A true breakfast of champions, my only criticism is that the egg glaze came out …. well a bit eggy. Sort of made it tase like scrabbled egg on croissants. Which is fine, but not the best with jam.

Cheers,

Olly

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Breakfast Croissants

  1. […] Much like the previous pasta post I have tried to avoid reposting recipes, without at least some modification. Now thats all fair and well with bread, but croissants are perhaps my favourite breakfast snack, and perfect for a bank holiday monday. So time to repost my croissant recipe. […]

Leave a Reply

